Geological CO2 Storage

Course Outline

Module 1: Introduction

  • Introduction to CCS
  • Introduction to saline aquifer storage
  • CO2 storage project design

Module 2: Reservoir concepts and storage requirements

  • Reservoir/seal systems for pore space storage
  • Storage capacity
  • CO2 PVT

Module 3: Flow mechanics (part I)

  • Single phase flow in porous media - Darcy
  • Single phase flow in porous media - Mass conservation
  • Two-phase transport - Pore scale processes

Module 4: Flow mechanics (part II)

  • Two-phase transport: Introduction to relative permeability, capillary pressure
  • Two phase transport: Non-linear processes
  • Link to dynamic reservoir modelling/simulation

Module 5: Storage risks: Seals, assessment, geomechanics and geochemistry

  • Geochemical requirements to safely store CO2
  • Geomechanical requirements to safely store CO2
  • Seal integrity

Module 6: CCS monitoring and risk assessment

  • Well integrity and subsurface monitoring
  • Seabed/shallow subsurface monitoring
  • (Near) Surface and Marine monitoring

Module 7: Public perception, policy and emerging/niche CO2 storage options

  • CO2 for enhanced oil production
  • Emerging/niche options to store CO2
  • Public perception and policy

Participants’ Profile

All those interested in the geoscience and engineering aspects or carbon capture and storage.

About the Instructors

Andreas Busch (Heriot-Watt University)

Prof. Andreas Busch is Professor in Earth Sciences. He is currently the Director of the Institute of GeoEnergy Engineering and Head of the GeoEnergy Research Group in the Lyell Centre, both at Heriot-Watt University. His research is focusing on topics associated with the Energy Transition, working with a diverse group of researchers composed of geologists, geomechanists, petroleum engineers, hydrologists and geochemists. The group aims at an improved understanding of the coupled thermo-hydro-chemical-mechanical aspects related to carbon capture and storage (CCS), geothermal heat, hydrogen storage and natural gas production on the laboratory, field, and modelled reservoir scale.

Eric Mackay (Heriot-Watt University)

Eric Mackay holds the Energi Simulation Chair in CCUS and Reactive Flow Simulation in the Institute of GeoEnergy Engineering at Heriot- Watt University, where he has worked since 1990. His research interests include the study of fluid flow in porous media, such as the flow of oil, gas and water in subsurface geological formations. He has over 100 publications related primarily to maintaining oil production when faced with mineral scale deposition, but since 2005 he has also worked on Carbon Capture and Storage. He is involved in projects identifying methods for calculating secure CO2 storage potential in saline formations and depleted hydrocarbon reservoirs.

Florian Doster (Heriot-Watt University)

Professor Florian Doster [PhD, Stuttgart University, 2011] is Professor for Multi-Scale Multi-Phase Flow Modelling in the Institute of GeoEnergy Engineering at Heriot-Watt University and Program Director for Subsurface Energy Systems. His research interests include the study of multi-physics multi-phase flow phenomena in porous media and their appropriate physical and mathematical description across length and time scales. He focuses on phenomena related to CO2 storage, flow in fractured porous media and hysteretic phenomena such as trapping. His research is funded by the ACT(BEIS), European Commission, US Department of Energy, the Scottish Energy Technology Partnership, Norwegian Research Council, Foundation CMG, Total, BP and Petronas.

Martin Landrø (NTNU)

Prof. Dr Martin Landrø received an M.S. (1983) and Ph.D. (1986) in physics from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology. From 1986 to 1989, he worked at SERES. From 1989 to 1996, he was employed at IKU Petroleum Research as a research geophysicist and manager. From 1996 to 1998, he worked as a specialist at Equinor’s research center in Trondheim. Since 1998, Landrø has been a professor at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Department of Petroleum Engineering and Applied Geophysics. Landrø’s research interests include seismic inversion, marine seismic acquisition, and 4D and 4C seismic. Recognitions received: EAGE Norman Falcon award (2000), best paper in GEOPHYSICS (2001), Norwegian Geophysical award (2004), Equinor’s researcher prize (2007), SINTEF award for outstanding pedagogical activity (2009), EAGE Louis Cagniard award (2010), Eni award - New Frontiers in Hydrocarbons (2011), EAGE Conrad Schlumberger award (2012), IOR award from the Norwegian Petroleum Directorate (2012).

Philip Ringrose (Equinor, NTNU)

Philip Ringrose is a Specialist in Petroleum Geoscience at Equinor. He has over 30 years of experience in reservoir modelling and field development projects. He is also Adjunct Professor in CO2 storage at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in Trondheim, Norway. He has published widely on geology and flow in rock media and is Co-Editor of Petroleum Geoscience. Philip was elected as EAGE President in 2014/2015 and is active in the global development of applied geoscience and low-carbon energy solutions.